Orlando mayor, commissioners sworn into new terms


Orlando Mayor Buddy Dyer and three city commissioners were sworn into new four-year terms Monday at the Dr. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts. 

Dyer, along with Commissioner Patty Sheehan and Commissioner Sam Ings, won re-election in last November's city elections. Commissioner Tony Ortiz, who was unopposed in the election, won his seat by default. The election had originally been scheduled for April 2016, but was moved by the City Council to November to avoid a conflict with Florida’s March 2016 presidential primary election. 

Dyer, who is starting his fourth term, would become Orlando's longest-serving mayor if he completed his term. Currently, that title is held by Carl Langford, who was mayor for 14 years. Commissioner Patty Sheehan, who began her fifth term, is the city's longest-serving incumbent. 

"I've dedicated my life to the service of others," Sheehan tells the crowd. "A lot of folks have called me a lifelong politician, but you know what? I'm proud of that service, so go ahead, call me a career politician because I love what I do." 

Commissioner Regina Hill, the newest commissioner, says her community has surrounded and embraced her in a tough year, and she's excited about the projects the council will work on in 2016.

"It's a great group of people that work together," she says. "We're a nonpartisan commission that are team builders, and I foresee even greater things happening this year."